adriana suriano
1 min readDec 29, 2018

Why does it feel like time has gone by quickly like shuffling a deck of cards? Other days it’s slow movements are like that of a precision watch.

I watch my mother slowly dying from a diseased mind. I wonder when peace will come. The slow moving tears down her face when she doesn’t know she is home. The questions to Jesus that last hours. Why did you let me life turn the wrong direction? Why are you letting me suffer.

I watch my nephews grow up so quickly. It was 14 years ago that Albert took so long to show us his beautiful face, I grabbed a cheesesteak while waiting. That seems like a few weeks ago.

adriana suriano

i am a first generation italian-american who grew up in southern new jersey. Life is amazingly beautiful and devastating. Sometimes in the same day.