adriana suriano
2 min readFeb 2, 2023

My mother was fierce. At 5 feet and 1 inch she commanded a room with her bright smile. When it was time for serious stuff to happen you knew that too. She was a highly trained designer and seamstress, making everything from wedding dresses to dress suits. She brought her skills to the USA and used her talent in Philadelphia and South Jersey until she retired at age 77.

My mother cared about everyone. She cared for them through her delicious hand made easter pies, pastas, breads, and the list goes on. My mother was my best friend for the last 20 years of my life. That’s when I became less of an asshole. I loved going to Macy’s and Marshalls with her. We always competed to see who could pick out the cutest item at the cheapest price. Our last trip to Italy together, some guy was trying to flirt with me. Trying to tell me that at age 34 i should marry him and move to Italy. My mother stood in front of him and sternly said “vattina!!” which is basically saying get the fuck out of here.

My mother lived for her 2 grandchildren. She cooked them the best meals from scratch. She wanted them to be strong and fierce like her. Mom. you would be so proud. Eric is 15 and 6 feet 2inches. He is so handsome and is a great soccer player. Albert is in college mom. A freshman. He got straight A’s and is 6 feet 1 1/2 inches. Mom, dad is okay too. You know how he is. He gives me things to do everyday. He visits you all the time. Everytime i visit him, like once per month, I visit you with him. You have your beautiful silk flowers that you did all the arrangements with right next to you. With a beautiful photo where you look like Jackie Kennedy. Bill is still my amazing husband. You loved him and he loved you. Mom, Rosanna is working and Eric is a Judge. All of this is because of you mom. I miss you. I love you. On this very special day I want to wish you the Happiest of Birthdays.

adriana suriano

i am a first generation italian-american who grew up in southern new jersey. Life is amazingly beautiful and devastating. Sometimes in the same day.