adriana suriano
1 min readMay 25, 2020

My dad walks for hours and miles everyday to not feel alone. When I ask him does it make him miss my mom less he says no.

So why walk, I ask.

He tells my through his flip phone that it’s a time when he might see someone they both knew. That it will bring her closer to him. That they might stop and say hello and ask how he is.

He says most of the time they quickly wave. Don’t stop. Don’t say hello. So he keeps walking until he might find that one person who will stop. Tell him how horrible it must be to not have her. To not have anyone. What a shame it is that your daughter lives 160 miles away. That she never moved back. She left for grad school and left you. My dad just waiting for someone.

adriana suriano

i am a first generation italian-american who grew up in southern new jersey. Life is amazingly beautiful and devastating. Sometimes in the same day.