adriana suriano
1 min readMay 17, 2021

match.com for dad- not sure how much time has gone by

when i told my dad to contact Mary somewhere in New York just to talk on the phone. you know. make a new friend. i was not quite prepared or what would follow.

“adriana, i dont think i can talk to Mary again.”

oh lord, i thought to myself.

“why not dad?”

“well she said she still works in new york and has her kids in new york, and well she is not going to move to new jersey, so i am not going to waste my time.”

“okay. no problem dad.”

who would have fucking thought that my father who never showed emotion until my mother passed 2 years ago, would give Mary, who he spoke to once on the phone, an ultimatum. move to nj Mary or this could never be.

i tried to explain match.com to my dad, again. nothing seemed like it made sense to him. it was liking trying trying to teach my dad how text on his flip phone. from 3 states away.

so i am back to looking for a friend for my dad. or maybe even two. someone that preferably lives in nj. so she doesn’t have to relocate.

adriana suriano

i am a first generation italian-american who grew up in southern new jersey. Life is amazingly beautiful and devastating. Sometimes in the same day.