adriana suriano
1 min readFeb 14, 2018

it’s times like this that i wish my mom’s mind was in tact. i had a ridiculous email exchange with someone. the kind that makes you think about eating an entire bag of doritos. in the past, my mom would have my back.

my mom would say “they are stupid adriana. who cares what they say.” nothing very philosophical. she just had my back. i miss her having my back.

these days my husband will defend me even when i don’t deserve. there was just nothing like my mom saying who cares in her thick southern italian accent.

before my grandmother died, i had her and my mom telling me “they are stupid adriana.” what i would not do to have them both say that to me today.

adriana suriano

i am a first generation italian-american who grew up in southern new jersey. Life is amazingly beautiful and devastating. Sometimes in the same day.