adriana suriano
Nov 29, 2020

In my almost 50 years

i learned most people will

not save your fall from grace

instead almost watching it

or maybe joining in

my fall from grace starts and stops

at work it’s abrupt and immediate

not willing to let inequity in how

we treat those we serve

or each other

or with family who taught me

i was trash, stupid

would never get into college

the day i graduated

i invited them

only my mom, dad,

nonna showing up

my mom and nonna hugged me

posed for photos

slipped me graduation cards

with $20 bills

as i age i care less and less

about falling

life hurts too much

that I expect the worse

those days or weeks or years

that i fall from grace

aren’t as painful because i expect

nothing less.

adriana suriano

i am a first generation italian-american who grew up in southern new jersey. Life is amazingly beautiful and devastating. Sometimes in the same day.