adriana suriano
1 min readMar 15, 2021

In a matter of days I will be saying this year I turn 50. I imagine most people take this in stride:

Own a home- Check.

Kids doing well. Check.

Established in a career. Check.

I take a deep which I am learning to do and sigh.

Since I can’t check off anything above I wonder what I am going to say at 50.

What would I say when people ask me:

“how old are your kids?”

“Hmmmm, I never had kids.”

It’s always elicits the same response, “really?”

“Pets?”

“Nope.”

“You must have put everything into your career. Not having kids and all.”

I never respond to that. I never explain how much I love being in the helping profession. How I never really made it, I just like serving and working in the city where I live. I know I will never be promoted as I just can’t, really don’t want to play the game of becoming an administrator. I am grateful I don’t want to. I would hate that. Can you imagine being disconnected from the work? Just to have a title and a larger paycheck?

adriana suriano

i am a first generation italian-american who grew up in southern new jersey. Life is amazingly beautiful and devastating. Sometimes in the same day.