adriana suriano
1 min readFeb 17, 2020

I’m not interested in so many things lately.

Not interested in why my sister refuses to unblock me after years of telling me I would always be trash. No one would love me. I would die alone.

Why my friend has ended our friendship after her journey through addiction and recovery. Missing out on joy when she had her son.

Why my uncle stopped seeing my mom years before she died. My dad never told me why. My dad requested I call his son. Tell him his father was banned from attending his sister’s funeral.

Not interested in self-loathing today. Only listening to the sounds of the train as I take a deep breathe in. Slowly breathing out.

adriana suriano

i am a first generation italian-american who grew up in southern new jersey. Life is amazingly beautiful and devastating. Sometimes in the same day.