adriana suriano
1 min readOct 26, 2019

i try to close my eyes for 60 seconds. 60 seconds. when my mind immediately wanders. lately i think about my day. serving the most vulnerable families in my beloved city is so emotionally painful. One of our mom’s who can’t escape her abuser. they share 4 children. he demands to see his children. then scare them. they have been in each other’s lives since she was 15. she does not know a world without him.

my 60 seconds includes feeling guilty. i should be stronger for her. i should not worry about my emotional pain. i am so selfish. so embarrassed i made her suffering about me.

the alarm gently chimes on my iPhone.

adriana suriano

i am a first generation italian-american who grew up in southern new jersey. Life is amazingly beautiful and devastating. Sometimes in the same day.