adriana suriano
1 min readJan 28, 2020

i set a 5 minute alarm

the stopwatch feature honestly

time seems to go by quicker that way.

i plant my bare feet on the

100 year old oak floors

i breathe in; breathe out.

turning out the lights i

start the stopwatch and sit

i wish for all sorts of wishes

to come true

that she would be alive today.

that the other would have done less LSD.

that he would have never sped down 295 in jersey and flipped his car over so many times until he was unrecognizable.

that i never trusted him with his stories of our future that led to hues of black and purple on my skin.

my wishes stay wishes until the next time i close my eyes.

until the next time I feel my bare feet on 100 year old oak floors.

adriana suriano

i am a first generation italian-american who grew up in southern new jersey. Life is amazingly beautiful and devastating. Sometimes in the same day.