adriana suriano
1 min readJun 1, 2019

i remember the last of everything mamma

the last meal you made me; pork tenderloin with russet potatoes and parsley

the last shirt we bought on the clearance rack at Macy’s; white and blue stripes

the last button you sewed on my black cardigan; gold plated from your collection

the last plant you gave me; a bamboo plant for luck

the last card you sent me with a $100 bill

the last thing we bought for my condo; matching sky blue pillows from marshall’s

the last trip we took together to Ellis island; you proudly stood for a photo

the last time we went to mass; you freely walked up to receive the body of christ

adriana suriano

i am a first generation italian-american who grew up in southern new jersey. Life is amazingly beautiful and devastating. Sometimes in the same day.