adriana suriano
1 min readSep 2, 2020

i left my condo at 7 am today

what does my beloved city have for me?

at age 95

Bob sits outside his apartment building

tending to the rose bushes with minimal blooms

at 95 Bob shared its easy to leave our beloved city

he has lived here since 1954

he reminds me it’s beloved for me

not beloved for him any longer

as an African American man

Bob embraced my beloved city

a respite from the deep south

my city has pushed all of his friends and neighbors out

not gone from old age

gone from gentrification

the deep south is better now

his eyes smile through his mask

Bob’s dad left him a home with land

near lakes to fish

near woods to hunt

he will not miss our beloved city

make sure i visit him again soon

soon to be gone

not to the promise land Bob tells me

gone because of gentrification.

adriana suriano

i am a first generation italian-american who grew up in southern new jersey. Life is amazingly beautiful and devastating. Sometimes in the same day.