adriana suriano
1 min readJun 9, 2020

I have often heard over the last 30 years of being employed that people are one way at their job. Another way outside of work. That you shouldn’t make friends. That kindness is seen as weakness. No good deed is left unpunished.

Where did all that bullshit start anyway?

I spend 8–10 hours working with my colleagues. Every. Single. Day. Why would I not want to be kind to them to them. How am I weak if I show kindness for my colleague who just had a baby needs some extra paid time off. There so many things I can have her do outside of the office. She is raining there next generation something I selfishly never choose to do.

adriana suriano

i am a first generation italian-american who grew up in southern new jersey. Life is amazingly beautiful and devastating. Sometimes in the same day.