adriana suriano
1 min readAug 10, 2020

Falling from grace can be hard and fast. Like when my ex- friend planned a happy hour when she traveled back into town. I just can’t do this I thought. I’m so tired. I’m so depressed. I cannot listen to one more story. Or one more emotional proclamation. I knew she would understand.

“I know we were supposed to get together like an hour ago. I mean it’s okay that you are running late. I just can’t get together tonight. I really need to go to bed.”

That was not a lie. At 8:15 pm in the summer I needed to go to bed.

“Okay. That’s fine.”

The conversation ended. I didn’t think much of it. She was pissed. I was a combination of depressed and tired so that was that.

That’s the moment i fell from grace with her. After several weeks of silence she told me she couldn’t be my friend anymore. She told me I wasn’t emotionally available. True. That was I so selfish with my time. That’s 100% true. I wasn’t the kind of friend who wanted to chat on the phone and fill each other in on the daily shit. Truer wants have not been said.

I don’t think she liked that I agreed with her. She hung up. I fell from grace not knowing how her new life is. The son she adopted. The death of her father from the same thing my mother died from. That was that.

adriana suriano

i am a first generation italian-american who grew up in southern new jersey. Life is amazingly beautiful and devastating. Sometimes in the same day.